KDL football | Gun Lion claims back-to-back league medals

By Aydin Payne

Undera gun Kaine Herbert was last night crowned the Kyabram District League's best player for a second straight year.

The Lion onballer clinched his second McNamara Medal in front of friends and supporters at the Shepparton Showgrounds' McIntosh Centre.

Herbert finished the count on 27 votes, four votes ahead of Tallygaroopna's midfield bull Tim Karolidis.

As Undera agonisingly missed out on finals football due to percentage, Herbert's season could not have been stronger.

His precision foot skills shone and his physicality on the ball stood out, as he featured in his side's better players 10 times in 16 games.

The talented midfielder becomes the first player to win back-to-back McNamara Medals since Nagambie's Rohan Aldous in 2000, solidifying his position in the league as one of its best performers.

Avenel's Kasey Duncan collected the league goal-kicking award, with the Swans coach booting 58 goals from 14 matches.

What makes Duncan's efforts even more impressive is he was able to boot 21 goals from his final two matches of the season, while battling with an anterior cruciate ligament injury.

Duncan also claimed the senior coach of the year award, while Nagambie's Mitch Sanderson claimed the junior coach of the year.

Meanwhile, Undera's John Forde clinched the reserve Wade Medal with 23 votes.

Longwood's Reece Dimech was hot on his heels, ending the season on 19 votes to be runner-up.

Merrigum veteran Bryce Wellington took out the leading goal-kicker award with 77 majors.

But controversy came early in the night as Stanhope's Daniel Brock finished tied for first in the under-18 football best-and-fairest.

However due to ineligibility, Murchison-Toolamba's Aaron Miller was crowned the sole winner of the Inch Medal on 24 votes.

Strangely enough, there were joint runner-ups on 22 votes, with Merrigum's Ethan McLaren and Stanhope's Falcon Taurua sharing second place.

Lancaster premiership player Daniel Anderson capped off a stellar year with the leading goal-kicker award, booting an incredible 111 goals.

Lastly, Nagambie premiership and best-on-ground winner Blake Fothergill capped off a stunning season with Rising Star award.