Shepp News Finals MVP

By Tyler Maher

The action on the field is reaching its zenith, and the action off of it — in the form of the Shepparton News Finals MVP — is also heating up.

Another round of cut-throat finals clashes has served to sort the wheat from the chaff in the award, with a pair of front-runners emerging from the pack.

Kyabram attacking weapon Brad Mangan collected another two votes to move to five from his pair of finals matches, as did Lancaster's Tom Davies.

They are two votes ahead of a huge chasing group made up of 23 players — although many of them have reached the end of the line this season.

Mangan will have a weekend of rest before taking the field in the Goulburn Valley League decider, while Davies and his Wombats will put their Kyabram District League campaign on the line once more tomorrow against Tallygaroopna.

In all 64 players have earned at least one vote in the award across the GVL, KDL, Murray Football League and Picola District Football League finals series, with eight combined matches remaining to snare more plaudits.

Among those on three votes, Shepparton's Cam Wild, Waaia trio Ash Thompson, Charlie Burrows and Sam Richardson, Strathmerton duo Theo Thomas and Lance Oswald, Numurkah's Michael Herlihy, Nathalia's Liam Evans, Congupna pairing Curtley Allen and Lachie Baldwin, Tongala's Cam Ilett and Makenzie Ryan, Kyabram's Mick Mattingly, Lancaster's Tannar Cerrone, Echuca's Luke McKenna and Nagambie's Anthony Haysom still have the opportunity to rise up the table.


Goulburn Valley League

Kyabram v Shepparton

3. Mick Mattingly (Ky)

2. Brad Mangan (Ky)

1. Pat Wearden (Ky)

Echuca v Rochester

3. Luke McKenna (Ech)

2. Cooper Barber (Ech)

1. James Gledhill (Roch)

Murray Football League

Mulwala v Tongala

3. Makenzie Ryan (Ton)

2. Jack Hammond (Ton)

1. Will Barden (Mul)

Echuca United v Congupna

3. Lachie Baldwin (Con)

2. Tate Mifka (Con)

1. BJ Squire (Con)

Kyabram District League

Tallygaroopna v Nagambie

3. Anthony Haysom (Nag)

2. Dan Fitzpatrick (Nag)

1. Steven Barber (Nag)

Stanhope v Lancaster

3. Tannar Cerrone (Lanc)

2. Tom Davies (Lanc)

1. James Ross (Lanc)

Picola District Football League

Waaia v Deniliquin Rovers

3. Charlie Burrows (Waaia)

2. Sam Richardson (Waaia)

1. Mitch Cleeland (Waaia)

Strathmerton v Rennie

3. Lance Oswald (Strath)

2. Matt Shannon (Strath)

1. Adrian Crestani (Strath)


5: Brad Mangan (Ky), Tom Davies (Lanc). 3: Rhys Free (Roch), Daniel Brock (Stan), Chase Strawhorn (Ren), Cam Wild (Shepp), James Gilligan (Deni), Des Morgan (Deni), Ash Thompson (Waaia), Theo Thomas (Strath), Joel O'Dwyer (Ren), Alex Hay (Deni), Michael Herlihy (Num), Liam Evans (Nath), Curtley Allen (Con), Cam Ilett (Ton), Sam Richardson (Waaia), Mick Mattingly (Ky), Tannar Cerrone (Lanc), Charlie Burrows (Waaia), Lance Oswald (Strath), Luke McKenna (Ech), Anthony Haysom (Nag), Makenzie Ryan (Ton), Lachie Baldwin (Con).