MFL wrap - round 17

By Tyler Maher

Tongala sent shockwaves through the upper tier of the Murray Football League table with a dominant performance against rival Echuca United on Saturday.

The Blues put the foot down after quarter time — kicking 17 goals to five following the first change — to complete a 21.9 (135) to 8.7 (55) triumph and shore up their top four chances.

Jordan Souter and Cam Ilett led the charge for the home side at Tongala Recreation Reserve, with Makenzie Ryan booting five goals for the match.

Josh Mellington added four majors to his tally for the Eagles — with Dean Moon and Nic Denahy also impressing — but it was not enough to stop the rampant Blues.

Finley remains in the hunt for a finals berth after dealing comfortably with Cobram in a 16.13 (109) to 9.7 (61) victory.

The Cats are just two points outside of the eight and are snapping at Tungamah's heels thanks to the likes of Mat Wilson (four goals), Paul Massingham (three) and Ben Ashley-Cooper.

Adam De Cicco, Luca Allen and Kade Zito battled hard for the Tigers.

The Bears kept their finals destiny in their own hands with a win against Rumbalara on Saturday, completing the 14.13 (97) to 10.16 (76) result on the back of stellar performances from Terence Jones, James Irvine and Wally Thomson.

Ash Miller, Jerome Sorgel and Kyal Atkinson were impressive for Rumba.

Barooga secured back-to-back wins with a 9.10 (64) to 6.19 (55) triumph against an inaccurate Moama.

Riley Gow slotted six majors for the Hawks as Xavier Hunt, Will Robinson and Ricky Thomson dominated.

Fraser Buchanan managed four goals for the Magpies and was among his side's better players with Lachie Thorp and Luke Eldridge.

Congupna is certain to taste finals action for the first time since 2012 after defeating Katandra 14.7 (91) to 8.12 (60), with BJ Squire, Lachie Baldwin and Curtley Allen standing tall.

Trent Herbert and Tom Jeffery caught the eye for Katandra.

Nathalia had a huge win against Deniliquin to round out the fixtures, with the final scoreboard reading 22.14 (146) to 4.7 (31).

Alex Hicks booted five majors for the Purples as Adam Jorgensen, Ryan Butler and Drew Barnes also impressed.

Ricky Gittens and Nick Howe were Deniliquin's best players.