Young Tigers claim awards

By Brayden May

ROCHESTER junior football club have celebrated their 2019 success after they held their junior presentation day earlier this month.

There were plenty of award winners across the club's under 14 and under 16 teams with more than 70 players pulling on the yellow and black this season.

While there was plenty of focus on the on-field performances, Linda Walker's off-field role did not go unnoticed after she was named club person of the year.

“Linda is club treasurer and team manager of the under 14 team (who) devotes many hours to our club every week," a post on the club's Facebook page said.

“There could not have been a more deserving recipient of this award and (we) congratulate Linda on this fantastic achievement.”

Award winners

Under 16s

Best and fairest: Waugh George.

Runner-up: Sam Ryan.

Most consistent: Will Leahy.

Most improved: Jonathan Waters.

Coaches award: Lewis Cleary.

Best first year player: Max Ward.

Most determined: Patrick Mathers.

Under 14s

Best and fairest: Charlie Palmer.

Runner-up: Nate Rasmussen.

Most consistent: Ray Pearson.

Coaches award: Hunter Wileman.

Best first year player: Harrison Foster.

Most determined: Hugh Kerlin.

Most improved: Noah O’Sullivan.