Lakers A Grade snare T20 title

By Yarrawonga Chronicle

The Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club have won their second T20 WDCA title after a 7 wicket win against defending champs Greta. 

Played at the Wangaratta Showgrounds from 7pm, the Lakers were put into the field and dominated the contest from the very first ball. Such was the dominance that the Lakers claimed the first two wickets without Greta scoring. 

Angus McMillan and Will Sharp applied enormous pressure upfront and McMillan took 2 for 14 from his four overs; giving McMillan 7 wickets for the tournament after he claimed 5 for 7 in the Lakers qualifying win against Delatite. 

Sharp had figures of 1 for 20 off his four overs.

Such is the T20 game that runs need to be scored quickly, but pressure by the bowling team causes panic. 

Matt McCabe bowling superbly with tight length and claimed 2 for 8 off his 4 overs, while Corey McIntosh bowled to a plan and took 1 for 14 off 3.2 overs to have Greta all out for 80 off 19.2 overs. 

Lakers Coach Brendan Lewis struck regularly to finish with 3 for 22.

The Lakers took to the batting crease knowing 4 runs per over would get them to the total of 80. 

However, openers Josh Lawrence and Matt Casey upped the run rate from the first ball and cruised to 0 for 29 after just five overs. 

Light rain forced the players from the field at this point and after an hour delay and closing in on 10pm at night the Lakers returned to continue their batting innings.

Upon resumption 1 run was added before Lawrence was dismissed for 24 runs and incoming batsman Ben Irvine was dismissed without scoring. 

But Casey and Zach Moore added 19 in an important partnership before Moore was dismissed with the score on 50. 

Captain Reid Clarke joined Casey and with excellent poise and placement the pair had a 32 run undefeated partnership to see the Lakers post the winning score of 3 for 82 after just 15.2 overs and thus claim the T20 title; their second following victory with the first coming in 2017/2018 season.

The T20 winning team was: Reid Clarke (Captain), Josh Lawrence, Matt Casey, Ben Irvine, Zach Moore, Brendan Lewis (Playing Coach), Angus McMillan, Corey McIntosh Will Sharp, Brock McCabe and Matt McCabe with Stephen Hicks (Scorer).