Pigeons feature in Bushies under 16 squad

By Yarrawonga Chronicle

The Murray Bushrangers announced their NAB League Boys Under 16 Pre-Season Squad for 2020 last week with seven Yarrawonga Pigeons players selected. 

Tom Gorman, Oliver Ridley, Max Mickelson, Zac Fraser, Will Connell, Caleb Mitchell and Sam Hemphill will be part of 70 players that will take part in the pre-season program which starts on Sunday, November 17 at Norm Minns Oval Wangaratta. 

The Murray Bushrangers Under 16 team is a development pathway program into the NAB League Under 18 competition and plays three matches in the AFL Victoria Country Under 16 Carnival which are held on the weekends of – Round 1 - March 21/22 v Gippsland Power Round 2 - March 28/29 v Bendigo Pioneers Round 3 - Friday April 3 v Great Western Victorian Rebels.

Following the pre-season schedule, plus a 

series of practice matches, a final squad of 25 players will be selected to represent the Murray Bushrangers at the AFL Victorian Country Under 16 Carnival.

Steele Sidebottom, Jack Ziebell and Jy Simpkin are some of the players to progress through to AFL senior ranks after impressing in the AFL Victorian Country Under 16 Carnival.