Tat Chat - Hill Top Golf Club

By Shepparton News

Saturday’s four-ball best-ball stableford was for the Baden Hill Perpetual the trophy for which is a silver plate donated by Baden 50 years ago as a gift to the club. His son Frank has continued providing trophies for all of that time and will continue to do so until his son Malcolm steps in to keep the family tradition alive.

Newcomers Scott Perry and James Peck had a runaway victory with 50 points, while Alex Howson and Dave Roberts were runners-up with 45 on a countback. Peck, playing off an eight handicap, dominated the front nine holes with six pars, but Perry took over with six scores on the back nine which yielded them 27 points.

Nearest the pin trophies went to Matt Miller on the third and the 14th, James Peck won on the sixth, while Ty Guiney won NTP and the jackpot on the ninth. Line-balls went to Jody Webber-Les Walshe 45, Alex Bell-Matt Miller 45, Ryan Lindsay-Ty Guiney 42, Rocco Barca-Darren Carter 42, Jeff Huddle-Geoff Coolahan 42, Lou Villani-Ian Le Lievre 41, Col Barlow-Steve Zolich 41 on countback.

Joyce Baird and Yvonne Kartner won the women’s event with 46 points and Paula Wills-Bec Jeffers were runners-up with 43. NTP trophies went to Phyl Fiddes on the third, Josie De Ieso on the sixth, Jan Coe on the ninth and Janette Hayward on the 14th. Consolation balls went to Barb Nation-Sharon Jeffers 41 and to Gail Wootton-Josie De Ieso 41.

Midweek: Peter Hutton won Tuesday’s stroke competition with a round of 87-18-69 and Jeff Baker was runner-up with 89-20-69 on a countback from ball-winner Ron Popple while Garry Reese won NTP.

Allen Gale won Thursday’s stableford round with 40 points off a 20 handicap. Clive Merrigan was runner-up with 38, Allen Gale won NTP and line-balls went to Graham Meneilly and Ron Popple 38 and to Lou Villani 37 on a countback.

Mat Langley Twilight: A wet and windy Thursday afternoon meant last week’s field of 70 was never going to be reached, but 27 golfers still took to the fairways with Sam German winning with 44-17-27. Travis Worm was runner-up with 39-9-30, Scott Carter won NTP on the 14th and line-balls went to Scott Perry 32, Dave Roberts 32.5, Jody Webber 33, Paul Hughan 34, Les Walshe 34.5, Michael Downs and Scott Lye 35.

Coming events: Thursday’s stableford competition has a 10am assembly for a 10.30pm shotgun start and players are asked to enter online by 9pm the day before. Michael Down’s reign with the Privilege Cup ended prematurely when he approached a member twice, but he will have the opportunity to win it once again on Saturday. Colin Barlow sponsors a four-person medley Ambrose on Sunday and golfers are advised that early hit-offs begin on Tuesday, October 29. The club’s annual general meeting will be on Monday, October 28.