Saints Awards Night

By Southern Riverina News

Harley Middleton’s move to the midfield has paid dividends, with the tough onballer claiming the Berrigan seniors best and fairest trophy at the club’s presentation night.

It was Middleton’s second time winning the club’s top honour, first claiming it in 2016.

This year’s runner-up was fellow onballer Will Robinson and third was ruckman Adam Way, who also finished third in the Picola & District League best and fairest vote count.

Other award winners were: Best 20 yr and under - Fraser Haintz; Most Consistent - Adam Way; Best in Finals - Tom Walliss; Leading Goal Kicker - Ted Walliss (55 goals); Coach’s award - Tom Beams; Best New Recruit - Jake Beams.

In the reserves vote count it was Steven Morgan who finished as best and fairest.

The key defender finished ahead of league medallist Noel Baxter, who had a solid 2019 season onball.

Other award winners were:Coach’s Award - Craig Glanvill; Best Team Player - Zac Nugent; Most Reliable - Stuart Pyle; Most Determined - George Stevenson; Most Consistent - Ian Congdon; Leading Goal Kicker - Gerald Towler (36 goals); Best in Finals - Mason Peters.

Matt Whelan stood tall in the fourths vote count, claiming the top honour ahead of Hamish Cameron.

Other award winners were:

Coach’s Awards - Lachlan O’Dwyer and Connor Taylor-Titlow; Most Consistent - Darcy Pyle; Best Team Player - Liam Brown; Most Improved - Jebidiah Meyervale and Archie Cameron; Most Determined - Xavier Fox; Rising Star - Faron Urrutia.

Berrigan Football Club also presented a new award this year, with the inaugural Best Playing Club Contributor being awarded to playing-coach Lee Schmidt.

Schmidt was presented with the award for his role in the club’s improvement, with the Saints finishing third on the ladder. This year is recognised as one of the club’s most successful seasons on and off the ground.

It was also announced that Schmidt would step down from his role as senior coach, opening the door for a new leader to build on his hard work.