Golf Reports | December 13

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, December 3

Christmas lunch was provided for Tuesday’s golfers with Jason Quattrocchi enjoying the ham after his festive A grade victory.

John Blowman blew the B grade field away to win in gale force conditions and after relinquishing committee duties a well-rested and limber Ted Fordham took out the super-pin.

A total of 97 golfers played the west course with 36 points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Jason Quattrocchi (43 c/b), 2nd: Michael Clemmens (43), 3rd: Richard Douglas (40 c/b).

B grade: 1st: John Bowman (42), 2nd: Garry Jeffery (37 c/b), 3rd: Chris Bilkey (37 c/b).

NTPs: 4th — Raymond Carr, Ron Meikle and John Meincke; 8th — John Bedford, Joop Flokstra and Ian Clarke.

Super-pin: 16th — Ted Fordham $79.

Thursday, December 5

Allan McKinlay had the round of the day whilst dismantling A grade.

Ken Giovanetti came out on top of a packed B grade field and the course certainly suited Brian Guille who took out C grade.

David Cockroft received a nice Xmas bonus winning the super pin.

A total of 190 golfers played the west course with 34 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Allan McKinlay (nett 66), 2nd: Len Prior (68), 3rd: Cooper Gentle (69).

B grade: 1st: Ken Giovanetti (69 c/b), 2nd: Lawrie West (69 c/b), 3rd: Len Adams (69 c/b).

C grade: 1st: Brian Guille (68), 2nd: Bill Ramsay (69 c/b), 3rd: John Meinke (69 c/b).

NTPs: 4th — Jonty Jeoffreys, Noel Wallace and Robert Jefferson; 8th — Dean Bruns and Alan Williams.

Super-pin: 16th — David Cockroft $160.

Saturday, December 7

A juiced up Neil Orchard squeezed out the round of the day to claim the monthly medal and C grade.

Glenn Rogers held off the imposing Andrew Briggs in A grade and Thomas Flinn did enough in B grade.

The gross winners were Cooper Gentle in A grade, who continues to dismantle the new west course, another emerging young talent in D’Arcy Whyte in B grade and the consistent Paul Barnes in C grade.

Michael Langstaff had the first shot of the day on the 16th and held onto the super pin.

A total of 188 played the west course with nett 71 on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Glenn Rogers (nett 67 c/b), 2nd: Andrew Briggs (nett 67), 3rd: Cooper Gentle (gross 69 c/b).

B grade: 1st: Thomas Flinn (nett 65), 2nd: Gary Edwards (nett 66 c/b), 3rd: D’Arcy Whyte (gross 79).

C grade: 1st: Neil Orchard (nett 63), 2nd: Craig Williams (nett 64 c/b), 3rd: Paul Barnes (gross 87).

NTPs: 4th — Glenn Rogers, Ap Kuiper and Phill Smith; 8th — Peter Hilet, Grant Steward and Barry Dixon.

Super-pin: 16th — Michael Langstaff $172.


Wednesday, December 11

After an early breakfast, 113 ladies celebrated their Christmas Breakup with a three or four person Texas Ambrose event on the West course.

The rundown went to 91.

1st: June Mills, Meagan Murdoch and Kath Sinnett (100 points).

2nd: Chris Kelly, Ann McPherson, Fran Murphy and Cas Smith (99 points).

3rd: Colleen Armstrong, Chris Ross, Susan Hull and Gill Crawford (95 points).

Super-pin: 8th — Lee Boulton.

NTPs: A grade — Chris Fleming; B grade — Carolyn Barnes; C grade — Cas Smith.

Second shot was shared by Marion Whatley and Di Symons who both got the ball in the hole.

Nearest the line: A grade — Chris Ross; B grade — Sue Mulcahy; C grade — Jan Annakis.

Longest putt was won by Cath Kelly on the 18th hole.

Saturday, December 7

Noeline King scored 72 to win from Marion Whatley on 73 and Joy Kelly on 74 in a stroke competition on the west course with 24 entrants on Saturday.

The rundown went to 76.

Noeline King won the Star Award for the month.

Maxine Aitken won the Super Pin on the 16th.

NTPs: 8th — Division 1: Simone Morgan; Division 2 — Colleen Lynch.

Monday, December 9

Completely different conditions greeted the nine-hole Monday competition from the week before with 26 brave ladies competing on a very hot day on the west.

The stableford event rundown went to 15.

Overall winners

1st: Bernie Eade (20), 2nd: Robyn Wood (19), 3rd: Julie Leahy (17 c/b).

Second shot was won by Deb Townrow.

Back Nine

Results for Friday, December 6

Men’s A grade: 1st: Danny Lavery (17 c/b), 2nd: Jim Hind (17 c/b), 3rd: Norm Hodge (17 c/b).

Women’s A grade: 1st: Helen Makin (18).

Men’s B grade: 1st: Eric Qualman (20), 2nd: Laurie Edwards (17), 3rd: Bill Turner (16).

Women’s B grade: Jenny Todd (22).

Men’s NTP: 6th — Danny Lavery.

Women’s NTP: 4th — Helen Makin.

Straightest drive: Men — Bill Turner; Women — Jenny Todd.

Monthly raffle: Jenny Todd.