Rough road trip for DBC

By Jamie Lowe

Deniliquin Bowling Club’s Division One Midweek Pennant side had a rough trip to Moama last week, returning home with a 24 shot loss.

Deni only managed one rink win in the 89 to 65 round seven defeat.

Linda Harris skipped her rink of Graham Nisbet, Tony Danckert and Jenny Tonta to an 11 shot win.

The quartet scored 10 shots over the last four ends for a final score of 27 to 16.

This was the only joy for Division One however, with Lindsay Franklin, Brenda Leetham, Fay Munnerley and Jill Grimshaw (s) winning 11 ends, only to to lose by five shots, 28 to 23.

Toni Brooksby, Winnie Pattinson, Caryn Hillier and Lyn Smith (s) won nine ends, but suffered a massive 25 shot loss; 40 to 15.

It was a much better result for Deni’s Division Three who played host to Tongala.

Both Deni rinks joined the winner’s circle to finish 27 shots up overall; with a final score of 63 to 36.

Lorraine Tasker, Aileen Kennedy, Chris Frampton and Robyn Little (s) led from the first end, scoring 16 of the 25 ends to finish with a score of 32 to 17.

Noel Murray, Maureen King, Joy McArthur and Cheryl Bradley (s) were level with their opponents on four occasions up until the 15th end.

From that point on, Deni took control of the game scoring 17 shots to five over the last 10 ends; to register a 12 shot win, 31 to 19.

This week is the final round before the Christmas break.

Division One travel to Mathoura with an unchanged team, which is as follows:

Lindsay Franklin, Brenda Leetham, Fay Munnerley, Jill Grimshaw (s); Graham Nisbet, Tony Danckert, Jenny Tonta, Linda Harris (s); Toni Brooksby, Winnie Pattinson, Caryn Hillier, Lyn Smith (s).

Skippers’ cars to leave at 8.45am.

Division Three travel to Moama to play ladder leader Moama Red, with the following teams:

Loris Yates, Maureen King, Joy McArthur, Cheryl Bradley (s); Noel Murray, Aileen Kennedy, Chris Frampton, Robyn Little (s).

Leads’ cars leave at 8.15am.

● ● ● 

The final of the Deniliquin Bowling Club’s Ladies Club Championship will be held this Thursday.

The decider will see reigning champion Linda Harris face-off against Caryn Hillier, with the game starting at 10am.