Taking advisory roles

By Country News

The Murray-Darling Basin Authority has announced 12 new members of the key community advisory body which helps guide the authority’s management and implementation of the Murray-Darling Basin Plan.

Those included on the list are Murray Dairy’s Amy Fay and Campaspe Shire Mayor Adrian Weston.

MDBA chair Neil Andrew said the new basin community committee members represented diverse areas of the basin and would bring widespread expertise and community views on water use, local government, the environment and indigenous water issues.

The new members will serve for three years, and will join four existing members — Karen Hutchinson, Howard Jones, Jo Pfeiffer and current chair Rory Treweeke — whose terms have been extended for up to 18 months.

‘‘I congratulate the new community committee members on their appointment and look forward to their advice and guidance on the implementation of the basin plan,’’ Mr Andrew said.

He said the Basin Community Committee, which is made up of 16 people, had an essential role to help the authority understand the complex issues across the entire basin, and to give advice on how to best manage the basin’s water resources in the future.

The new Basin Community Committee will hold its first meeting in August.