GVL: JR’s top 50

By Alex Mitchell

Tatura icon John Ryan has delivered yet another eye-catching Goulburn Valley League top 50, with Seymour superstar Jason Cole claiming his rightful place at the top of the pack.

Kyabram jet engine Mick Mattingly took second on the list with fellow Bomber Lachie Smith third.

The duo is two of 11 Kyabram players on the list, joined by Pat Wearden (seven), Tom Holman (eight), Kyle Mueller (12), Kayne Pettifer (15), Luke Morris (25), Jordan Williams (29), Aaron Hayes (32), Brad Whitford (45) and Zac Norris (50).

Echuca pair Andrew Walker and Cam Valentine are four and five, while potential Morrison Medal favourite Nick Fothergill is at number six.

It is a new-look top 50, with 25 changes to last year’s post-season list, with four changes to the top 10.

Liam Ogden and Nik Rokahr are no longer in the competition, Brett Mahoney has slid from 10 to 16, while Brad Mangan has inexplicably fallen from ninth outside the top 50 altogether.

Ryan said Cole ended at number one after Walker and Smith were given rigorous consideration.

‘‘It’s just based on his performance the last few years, Cole started the season a little bit slowly but since then he has been awesome,’’ Ryan said.

‘‘And that’s coming back after missing six or eight weeks at the end of last season with a knee injury.

‘‘For quite a while I had Andrew Walker at number one, but of course he’s missed about three weeks with injury. It’s actually been a toss-up between Cole and Lachie Smith for number one.’’

Among a plethora of controversial calls, youngster Patty Marks beat proven superstar Mahoney for the top Mansfield position, while former AFL talent Jason Tutt and power forward Brandyn Grenfell seem mightily unlucky to miss the 50 altogether.

‘‘It’s just on performance, if you look at Patty Marks he’s been in the best five times, where Mahoney has only been in it three times,’’ Ryan said.

‘‘If there’s a Morrison medallist playing this year and they hadn’t performed well, they wouldn’t be in the list.

‘‘If you look at (Grenfell’s) form, he’s nowhere near where he was last season.

‘‘Some people have told me (Tutt) had 40 possessions in two games, I was at those games and they must double them.’’

Ryan admitted he had probably made a mistake leaving out Shepparton Swan Tom Preece, and added Mooroopna’s Hudson Thomas was unlucky not to join teammate Kyle Gray on the list.

He added VFL-listed talents Steven Stroobants, Tom Boyd, Darby Henderson and Noah Wheeler had not been considered for selection due to irregular availability.

1. Jason Cole (Seymour)

2. Mick Mattingly (Kyabram)

3. Lachie Smith (Kyabram)

4. Andrew Walker (Echuca)

5. Cam Valentine (Echuca)

6. Nick Fothergill (Tatura)

7. Pat Wearden (Kyabram)

8. Tom Holman (Kyabram)

9. Will Martiniello (Benalla)

10. JD Hayes (Euroa)

11. Zac Keogh (Seymour)

12. Kyle Mueller (Kyabram)

13. James Gledhill (Rochester)

14. Patty Marks (Mansfield)

15. Kayne Pettifer (Kyabram)

16. Brett Mahoney (Mansfield)

17. Shane Neaves (Shepparton United)

18. Brad Ryan (Tatura)

19. Peter Faulks (Echuca)

20. Mitch Brett (Shepparton)

21. Angus Byrne (Echuca)

22. Jamason Daniels (Tatura)

23. Kane Morris (Echuca)

24. Anthony Andronaco (Shepparton)

25. Luke Morris (Kyabram)

26. Nick Warnock (Benalla)

27. Kyle Winter-Irving (Seymour)

28. David Mennen (Benalla)

29. Jordan Williams (Kyabram)

30. Brody Webster (Benalla)

31. Doug Wren (Rochester)

32. Aaron Hayes (Kyabram)

33. Nathan Marrone (Rochester)

34. Daniel Willis (Echuca)

35. Tom Freeman (Seymour)

36. Ted Lindon (Shepparton)

37. Andrew Browne (Mansfield)

38. Tim Allan (Echuca)

39. James Lawton (Mansfield)

40. Jack McHale (Echuca)

41. Matt Ivill (Euroa)

42. Jack Norman (Shepparton United)

43. Jett Trotter (Euroa)

44. Matt Di Bella (Shepparton United)

45. Brad Whitford (Kyabram)

46. Kyle Gray (Mooroopna)

47. Harry Boyd (Shepparton)

48. James Flaherty (Rochester)

49. Sean Martin (Tatura)

50. Zac Norris (Kyabram)