Kyabram and District League netball open interleague preview

By Aydin Payne

Kyabram District League has announced its squad of competitors for this weekend’s Open netball interleague clash against Golden Rivers league.

The coaching staff has opted to field a squad of 12 players for Saturday’s clash at Central Park Reserve, Shepparton East, blending the stars of today with the stars of tomorrow.

Merrigum and Tallygaroopna playing coaches Louise Richards and Lisa Crosier will rub shoulders with the likes of Merrigum star utility Allana Adams, Rushworth’s Grace Dent and Dookie United’s Eloise Caruana.

Merrigum’s Hannah and Maddie Egglestone, Tallygaroopna’s Tahla Sidebottom and Claudia Callagher, Murchison-Toolamba’s Kelsey McDonald, Avenel’s Bonnie Dawson and Undera’s Amy Reid round out the star-studded line-up.

Jen Smith and Colline Egglestone will co-coach the team this weekend, combining their wealth of expertise as players and coaches.

‘‘I handle the defence and Jen leads the attack, it’s a really good combination and it works well between us,’’ Egglestone said.

‘‘It was hard to turn everyone away, that’s why we’ve gone with 12 players and we feel we’ve put together the best side possible.

‘‘Training has just been to try and know each other, we’ve got a couple of young stars and experienced heads which is exciting.’’

Narrowing her focus to this weekend, Egglestone highlighted the threat of the opposition, but backed in her versatile squad.

‘‘Golden Rivers are a strong side, but we feel we have put together a great side with experience and youth and hopefully we can show Golden Rivers what the KDL is all about,’’ she said.

‘‘The side is flexible and all the players are quite versatile and can play a range of positions.

‘‘They are a really lovely group of girls as well, I wish I could spend more than one game with them.’’

The game starts at 2.10pm at Central Park Reserve, following the 17-and-under netball.


Co-Coaches: Colline Egglestone and Jen Smith

Amy Reid (Undera), Tahla Sidebottom (Tallygaroopna), Claudia Callagher (Tallygaroopna), Maddie Egglestone (Merrigum), Lisa Crosier (Tallygaroopna), Grace Dent (Rushworth), Kelsey McDonald (Murchison-Toolamba), Bonnie Dawson (Avenel), Louise Richards (Merrigum), Allana Adams (Merrigum), Eloise Caruana (Dookie United), Hannah Egglestone (Merrigum).