Speedway thrills at Rushworth

By Alex Mitchell

Rushworth Speedway’s new season starts today after the first meeting was cancelled due to weather.

The best available modified sedan competitors from across Victoria will dish up a terrific show, with drivers from Gippsland, Mildura, Geelong and from the Bendigo and Goulburn Valley areas.

The first night of racing also means night one of points towards club championship results for all the Goulburn Valley sedan classes with champions Shane Hutchins, Chloe Lamb and Lachlan Fitzpatrick keen to remind others why they are number one in their classes.

Modified sedan nominations include Goulburn Valley member Rodney Burr, who is returning to racing after some time away from the track, while Graham West from Bendigo in his LJ Torana also brings a local flavour to the meeting.

Nick Cockerill, Brock Atkins, Andrew Blackwell — a two-time national champion — Darren Cockerill, David Smith — also a former national champion — Kye Walters and Matt Nelson are just some of the competitors to keep an eye on when it comes to the feature race.

In open saloons, Michael Wicks in the Hyundai returns in what looks like an open field when it comes to podium positions.

The women’s saloons sees Chloe and Kelly Lamb set to compete against Cassie Wicks and picking a winner is difficult.

Production sedans have the biggest field of entrants of the local classes and Shane Hutchins will find competition tough against the likes of Geoff Lee, Mark Cecil, Bevan Hutchins, Ian Wilson, Troy Britton, Leigh Jeffery and Mikey Naismith.

Junior sedans champion Lachlan Fitzpatrick and his toughest competitor last season Tristan McGraw will have to compete against Todd Atkins, which should spice things up.

Racing is from 4pm today, with entry $25 an adult, $15 for aged pensioners, children 16 to 12 $12.50 and under 12 is free. A family of two adults and two children 12 to 16 is $60.