New-look draw for cricket’s Haisman Shield

By Tyler Maher

Cricket Shepparton has locked in its schedule for the new season, kicking off on October 6.

The Haisman Shield draw looks decidedly different this year with the addition of Waaia and Nagambie to the association’s ranks, while Euroa has also been promoted to the top level.

With 13 teams competing for Shepparton cricket’s top prize, the fixture has been streamlined so every outfit plays each other once during the season and has one bye across the 13 rounds of matches.

One-day matches will be played on the first six weekends of the season, before three two-day games are squeezed in before Christmas, with the last day of play before holidays on December 22.

Importantly, the first match after summer starts on January 12, the day after the recently-announced Australian Country Cricket Championships finish.

All rounds after the holiday break will remain as two-day fixtures, but round 12 will be played across a single weekend on February 16 and 17.

There will be no cricket on the Australia Day weekend across any grades.

Haisman Shield finals start on March 9, with the grand final slated for March 23 and 24.

Last year’s champion Katandra kicks its premiership defence off with a home fixture against Shepparton United, but will have to wait until the first round of two-day matches for a grand-final rematch against Numurkah.

Nagambie begins its Cricket Shepparton campaign with a clash against Kyabram at Kyabram Recreation Reserve, while Euroa will travel to Tallygaroopna to take on the Northerners in round one.

Waaia will have to wait until round two to get its season started, where it will make the trek to Memorial Oval to battle the Magpies.

Other round one clashes see Tatura hosting Central Park-St Brendan’s and Mooroopna travelling to Numurkah, while Old Students will take on Karramomus at Kialla Recreation Reserve.

The Students play four home games in the first seven rounds before the Kialla ground will become unavailable for the remainder of the season.

Fixtures for B, C and D-grade are also available online, but the Whitelock Shield E-grade draw is yet to be published due to pending confirmation of venue availabilities.