Golf talents take home championship victories

By Shepparton News

The Goulburn Murray Golf Association golf championships were played on the superbly presented Tocumwal course in conjunction with the Tocumwal Open event at the weekend.

In a strong field of players from district clubs, the early favourites and lowest handicap players did not disappoint, with Stephanie Vogel of Cobram-Barooga Golf Club and Shepparton’s Kyle Michel taking the women’s and men’s championships.

Vogel returned rounds of 77 on Saturday and 74 on Sunday for a scratch score total of 151 in a big win from runner-up Bobbette Wilkinson of Tocumwal.

In the men’s event, Michel starred on Saturday with a 68 to give him a four-shot lead, then with 72 on Sunday for a total of 140 he cruised through ahead of Blair Christie of Rich River, who returned scores of 77 and 72 for 148.

It was great golf from the winners and runners-up. Michel left Tocumwal for the airport to catch a flight to the United States to play in amateur qualifying events during the next six weeks.

The GMGA wishes him well and recognises the quality of district golfers.

In the handicap events, Julie Daniels of Numurkah won the A-grade women’s event with 157 nett, just ahead of Sue Pappas of Tocumwal with 158.

In B-grade, Megan Carr put Mooroopna on the map with 156 nett ahead of Sue Lawson of Tocumwal with 158.

Balls down the line went to Petra Wilmot (159), Julie O’Brien (162), Bobbette Wilkinson (163) and on 164 Jenny Bauerle, Helen Emery, Anne Beveridge and Janie Hills.

In the men’s handicap divisions, Peter Bolt from Tocumwal won A-grade with 146 to just pip Matt Miller of Hill Top with 147.

In B-grade, Andrew Nunn of Tocumwal with the best nett score of the tournament of 141 won, with Jordan Bovalina of Cobram Barooga runner-up on 150.

Balls down the line went to Sam Bates (150), Dylan Grandell, Mel McKenna (153), Andrew Storer (156), and Michael Cooper (157) and on 158 Caleb Bovalina, Ben Kerr and Mark Corridan.

Next week GMGA winter pennant returns with only a couple of rounds to go before the final on July 28. The sandscrape championships will be played at Rochester on August 12.