Golf report

By Benalla Ensign


On Saturday 63 players competed in a Stableford Event.

A-Grade was won by Adam Bowditch — returning with 40 points, placing David Dunster second on 35 points.

In B-Grade Eric Hoolihan was successful on countback with 37 points from Paul Hooper.

Mark Vorkapic had a runaway victory in C-Grade with 43 points, from David Dunster returning 35 points.

Sunday was the final of the Men’s Club Championship over 36 holes of match play with the successful winner and Club Champion for 2018 being Travis Hocking and runner up Adrian Squires.

Wednesday was a three or four-man ambrose.

The winners with a score of 54 3/8 were R. Brown, R. Day, R. Allan, G. Paull, runner ups were W. Hocking, A. Shearer, B. McLean and H. Pearce returning a score of 54 5/8.


Saturday, June 2 – Monthly Medal

Saturday, June 9 — Queens Birthday June Tournament starts.

RESULTS: Saturday

Nearest the Pins -

1st Olivers Mensland : Brian Hollins

3rd Crothers’ Joinery : Nil

8th Srixon/Golf Shop: David Dunster

12th Ray White : Luke Macfarlane

13th Spalding/Golf Shop: Blair Ferguson

Eagle : Mark Vorkapic ( 11th )

NAGA: Gary O’Brien

Ball Competition

35 K.Dosser, D. Senior, D. Taylor, G. Woodman, 34 J. Spencer, I. Wise, 33 P. Chaszcziwsky,

B. Convery, T. Hocking, R. Ramsden, 32 E. Defazio, R. Salter. c/b

RESULTS: Wednesday

Nearest the Pins

3rd Golf Shop: Nil

8th Golf Shop: A. Shearer

13th Fruits ‘ n ‘ Fare : R. Allan

Ball Competition

56 7/8 T. Williams, S. Symes, A, Levy, K. Muir.

58 ½ T. Symes, B. Firth, C. Symes.

59 ½ B. Hollins, D. Ross, P. Houghton, T. Mort.

Women’s golf

A stableford round was played on Thursday, May 24.

Division 1 winner Jackie Rubira with 38 points on countback.

Division 2 winner Coral Day with 36 points.

Ball competition G. Morton 38, T. Barry 35, L. Symes 35, M. Felmingham 34, G. Gill 34, J. Shennan 34.

NTP 3rd H. Briggs, Milner-Watson Pharmacy 8th G. Morton, Ray White 12th M. Felmingham, Golf Shop 13th J. Shennan, 14th C. Ogden.

On Saturday, May 26, a stableford round was played.

Division 1 winner J. O’Brien wIth 34 points on countback.

Division 2 winner Helen Hyland 36, Division 3 winner Jo Martin 35.

Ball competition C. Ogden 35, M. Watson 34, A. Haskell 33, J. Rubira 33, C. Warnock 33, H. Briggs 32, A. Thomson 32. NTP 3rd N. Cavedon, 8th A. Thomson, 13th C. Ogden, 14th V. Nicholas.

This week on Thursday a 4BBB stableford — the qualifying round for the 4BBB Knockout — will be played, and on Saturday a stableford round.

The playoffs for the 2018 ladies’ championships have been concluded with some excellent golf played over two stroke rounds and match play semi-finals and final.

Handicap winners: A-Grade Anne Thomson 147, B-Grade Marg Felmingham 151, C-Grade Val Nicholas 146, D-Grade Gwen Gilchrist 152.

The John and Beryl Roe Trophy — 36 Hole Handicap Score: Val Nicholas 146

The Masters Trophy — Sponsored by Anne Thomson: Val Nicholas 146

Congratulations to the Club Champions for 2018 who are:

Open Winner Hazel Briggs, Runner-up Marsha Watson, Match play result 4-3

B-Grade winner Lynn Symes, Runner-up Gay Morton 3-1

C-Grade winner Lindy Wrest Runner-up June Brauman 5-3

D-Grade winner Val Wood Runner up Bernadette O’Shannessy 4-2