Benalla golf report

By Benalla Ensign


Benalla Golf Club’s stableford competition was won by Les Cairnes and Daryl Quin on Sunday.

The pair beat Dave Dunster and B. Dosser one-up in the final.

The winner of A-grade this week was Brian Symes 38 points on countback to Russell Marshall.

B-grade went to Peter Bridgefoot with 37, placing Chris Dube second on 35. In C-grade Trevor Banfield was successful with 38. Runner up was Graeme Sykes on 36.

Wednesday saw the teams stableford event with four players a team. The winners were Greg O’Brien, John Downie, Les Thompson and Lockie Thompson on 98 points.

Andrew Hudson, Ken Muir, Ben Vandenakker and Gavin Crothers were runners-up with 93 points on countback.



Nearest the Pins: 1st Olivers Mensland : Daniel Squires, 3rd Crothers’ Joinery : Trevor Squires, 8th Srixon/Golf Shop: Gary O’Brien, 13th Spalding/Golf Shop: Daniel Symes.

KFC birdies: Brian Symes, Alan Moore, Brendan Duncombe. NAGA: Gavin Crothers.

Ball competition: 37 M. Dansey, B. Hubble, A. Moore, L. Piscioneri, A. Squires. 36 R. Allan, W. Booker, J. Spencer, D. Symes, T. Symes, 35 A. Hodson, P. Hossack, T. Willmott, D. Wittingslow.


Nearest the Pins: 12th Ray White: Keith Wright, 13th Fruits n Fare: Adrian Squires. Birdies: Tim Symes. Eagle: John Downie (second hole).

Ball Competition: 93 G. Dalton, B. Symes, J. Dalton, B. Ferguson. 92 A. Squires, B. Campbell, B. Barton, D. Self. 91 B. Macarty, D. Senior, T. Meagher, D. Taylor.

Coming events at the club see the first round of the Vets Championship starting today, and the first round of the club championships beginning on Saturday.

Women’s golf

Thursday’s stroke round, with 33 players, was won by Hazel Briggs with an 81-11-70.

Division two winner was Katrina Bailey with 93-27-66, while division three was won by Jean Martin with a 102-29-73 on countback.

Ball competition: J. Baker, R. Foletta 71, N. Cavedon, H. Crilly 72, J. Brauman, M. Felmingham, E. Tallis 73, B. Dobson 74.

NTP: 3rd H. Crilly, 8th H. Briggs, 12th L. Morgan, 13th L. Morgan, 14th H. Briggs.

Saturday’s stableford round was enjoyed by 19 players. Division one winner was Marion Cowan with 39 points, while division two went to Cheryl Garratt with 43.

Ball competition: M. Felmingham, L. Morgan 38, A. Haskell, R. Watkins 37.

NTP: 3rd L. Morgan, 8th M. Cowan, 12th G. Morton, 13th J. O’Brien, 14th L. Morgan.