Whittaker’s maiden title

April 21, 2017

Ned Whittaker following his Open Men's Singles crown win.

Ned Whittaker claimed his first Open Men’s Singles crown at this year’s Western Riverina Tennis Championships, played from Good Friday to Easter Monday at Deniliquin’s lawn courts.

Whittaker, who plays out of Kooyong Tennis Club, defeated former winner Hayden Fricke (Dendy Park TC) when the latter retired injured after the second set.

Scores were one set all (6/3, 5/7) before Fricke hurt his calf muscle in the first game of the third set.

On his way to the final Whittaker defeated last year’s winner Mitch Benstead, 6/1 6/1, in the semi final, and another former Open Singles champion Paul Luke, 6/1 6/2.

In the Open Ladies’ singles final it was multiple winner Bonnie Pearson defeating last year’s runner-up Melanie Lasslett, 3/6 6/0 6/1.

Young guns Lachlan Hart and Mitch Benstead were the winners of the Men’s Open doubles defeating experienced Deniliquin pair Mark Ritchie and Dean Irwin, 6/2 6/3.

Pearson also had a win in the Ladies’ Open doubles teaming with her mother Jenny to defeat Deirdre Bilney and Lasslett. Scores from this game were unavailable.

Pearson also teamed with Mark Nolan to win the open mixed doubles while also taking the A grade ladies doubles with her mother with an 8/4 victory over Deirdre Bilney and Natalie Walsh.

Two father-son combinations played off in the A grade men’s doubles with Rob and Ben McRae defeating Hayden and Josh Fricke 8/3.

Local player Lachy Campbell teamed with Graeme Kentish to take out the B grade men’s doubles over ex-local Dominic Moore and Will Edge, 6/4.

Deniliquin tennis players Libby Henderson and Pip Metcalfe were the only other local winners at the event, taking out the C grade ladies’ doubles.

Hay’s Brad Callaghan had a busy weekend winning both the Under 14 boys singles and U-14 boys doubles, the latter partnering with Melbourne’s Oliver Reimers.

Former local Michael Stubley was also a winner, taking out the B grade men’s singles title.

Other results from the tournament are as follows:

A grade men’s - Win Tangtanasringkarn; C grade men’s - Brad Moon; A grade ladies - Marie Henshall; B grade ladies - Monica Ki; C grade ladies - Caitlyn Arena; C grade men’s doubles - Jeremy Grummet and Dan Moon; U-16 boys - Win Tangtanasringkarn; U16 girls - Mia Geason; U-16 boys doubles - Oliver and William Reimers; U-16 girls doubles - Jemma Fricke and Luca Mullaly; U-14 girls single - Eliza Knowles; U14 girls doubles - Olive Grummet and Chloe Moon.

More in Regional
Login Sign Up

Dummy text