Clash of the titans

May 14, 2018

Making the cut: Nathalia's Bowen Smith will be looking to make an impact in the Murray Football League interleague side.

The Murray Football League troops are ready to go to war.

Ahead of Saturday’s 2018 AFL Victoria Community Championships showdown with the Gippsland Football League, the Murray squad has been whittled down to 26 players with two training sessions to come before Saturday’s Moe meeting.

Five of Cobram’s early season stars headlined the list rewarding a strong start to the campaign, suggesting form not reputation has been rewarded in the squad.

Nathalia’s representative quartet - gun midfielder Bowen Smith, power unit Brodie Ross, breakout star Tom Nihill and underrated Alex Hicks - screams of class, while playing-coaches Kane Atkinson and Jordan Souter will pack a midfield punch.

In the under-18 mix is a Finley six-pack, Zec Cuppens the pick of the side’s young senior player contingent.

Rumbalara also provides some quality with Kian Wise and Kyal Atkinson among its representatives.

Of the former Picola league clubs, Katandra boasts three players (Rex Wardle, Xavier Chalkey and Will Garner), Tungamah two (Liam Connell and Nick Irvine), while Shepparton East has no representatives in either sqaud.

The squads will train on Monday night in Nathalia and on Wednesday night at Rumbalara.

Jason Limbrick will coach the senior squad assisted by James Hazelman and Josh Noonan, while Adrian Daly, Levi Power and Mick Taylor will share the role for the under-18s.

Senior squad: Brodie A’Vard (Barooga), Sam Beasley, Sam Gemmill, Cadeyn Williams, Adam Decicco, Tyron Baden (Cobram), Sam Ferguson, Josh Chapman (Congupna), John Anstee (Deniliquin Rams), Farran Priest, Sam Toulmin, Nick Denahy (Echuca United), Lachlan Small (Finley), Angus Grigg (Moama), Hamish Hosking (Mulwala), Bowen Smith, Brodie Ross, Tom Nihill, Alex Hicks (Nathalia), Mitch Price, Grant Gallus (Numurkah), Kane Atkinson (Rumbalara), Jordan Souter, Riley Bacon (Tongala), Bodhi Butts, Ash Saunders (Tungamah).

Under-18s: Riley Gow (Barooga), Lachlan Hyde (Cobram), Joel Shannon, Jordan Gee (Congupna), Sam Willoughby, Sid Pearn, Lachlan Trotman (Deniliquin), Matthew Wilson, Zec Cuppens, James McCaw, Taylor Kleinschmidt, Luke Bramley, Duncan Clarke (Finley), Rex Wardle, Xavier Chalkey, Will Garner (Katandra), Callum Doyle, James Whitehead, Jake Kneebone, Ash Dewinne (Moama), Dylan Leadingham (Mulwala), Henry Congues, Brayden Summerville (Nathalia), Jerome Sorgel, Marlon Johnstone, Kian Wise, Kyal Atkinson (Rumbalara), Liam Connell, Nick Irvine (Tungamah).

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text