Parkers enjoy a crowning glory

March 07, 2018

A-grade premier, Kialla Park: Robbie Mifka, Josh Dillon, Sophie Smith and Ellie Mifka. Absent: Mitch Roche.

10-and-under premier, Katandra West: Alana Owen, Hunter Howells, Isabelle Maples, Emily Harry and Alexandra Smith. Absent: Addison Wardle and Ineke Walsh.

Division two green premier, Shepparton Lawn: Zac Borzillo, Aditya Bhattacharya, Lachlan Pearse and Ben Okely.

Singles division 2 yellow premier, Nathalia Lawn Blue: Toby Hansford, Taylor Moroney, Jarvis Rowlands, Matthew Slattery and Justin Watson.

Singles division three premier, Undera: Nicholas Dale, Sarah Mackay, Rhiann Eddy and Nathan Mackay.

Division two doubles premiers, Mooroopna Cats: Noah Kennedy, Fred Johnstone, Oriarna Macreadie, Aydan Barrett and Archie Parish.

Singles division one premier, Dhurringile: Harry Murdoch, Aaron Niglia and Charlie Murdoch.

C-grade premiers, Mooroopna Cats: (Back) Flynn Church, Jobe Jakobs, Mason Ballintine, Bailey Vanderdonk, (front) Daisy Crilly, Eloise Basile and Charlie Nicholson.

. B1 premiers, St Brendan's: (Back) Andrew Kennedy, Kadeyn Pogue, Nathan McBain, Flynn Lesire, (front) Tessa Smith and Sophie Cox.

D-grade premier, Kialla Park Gold: (Back) Josh Ludeman, Ashlee Magnusson, Riley Alessi, Cleo Calandro, Acacia Clark, (front) Nate Petty, Archer Mawson and Jayden Clifford.

Shepparton Junior Tennis Association ended its season with a bang by crowning 11 champions.

Kialla Park had been the powerhouse side in A-grade and made sure it collected the premiership flag to display its dominance.

The Parkers met Shepparton Lawn Purple in the grand final, executing some of their best tennis in a 7-46 to 1-27 victory.

Robbie Mifka set the tone for the match as the Kialla Park star held tight in a singles encounter against Purple’s Luke Turcato to take the set in a tiebreaker.

Josh Dillon added another set, as Ellie Mifka and Sophie Smith struck the ball with confidence in the girls’ singles.

Turcato and Will Rohde secured Purple’s only set win as both meetings in the mixed doubles went the way of the premier.

St Brendan’s meant business once they stepped out onto the court, overcoming Kialla Park in B1 action, 8-58 to 3-38.

The Saints reigned supreme in boys’ doubles as Kadeyn Pogue and Nathan McBain were formidable with Pogue just as successful when playing alongside Andrew Kennedy.

Molly Kennedy, Charlotte Uniacke and Rachael Fisher did their utmost for Kialla Park, but St Brendan’s showed that they finished on top of the ladder for a reason.

McEwen Reserve took the spoils in B2 competition, overcoming Shepparton Blue 7-53 to 4-41.

A consistent performance across the group was the reason for the side’s superior showing with Mitchell Pottenger, Samuel Coates and Tyler Sharman among those that contributed heavily to the victory.

Mooroopna Cats enjoyed premiership glory, forced to work hard on the biggest day of the year.

The Cats built a solid buffer following singles action against Shepparton Lawn Blue, continuing to consolidate the start in girls’ doubles as Daisy Crilly, Eloise Basile and Charlie Nicholson claimed both their sets.

Blue continued to push throughout the match by giving its all in the mixed doubles, but a dominant win to Crilly and team mate Jobe Jakobs sealed the Cats’ win.

Kialla Park Gold is the champion of D-grade, dropping just two sets in its defeat of Shepparton Yellow.

Archer Mawson, Josh Ludeman and Jayden Clifford put their best foot forward in boys’ competition, with Ashlee Magnusson, Riley Alessi, Acacia Clarke and Cleo Calandro just as pivotal in girls’ matches.

Aaron Niglia joined with Charlie and Harry Murdoch to put on a stellar show for Dhurringile on Sunday as they overcame Shepparton Lawn Yellow 6-36 to 0-16.

Nathalia Blue took the spoils in singles division two yellow, while Shepparton Lawn held up the division two green flag.

Undera and Kialla Park fought out the toughest grand final of the day in singles division three, with Undera clinching the enthralling match 3-29 to 3-28.

Mooroopna Cats rounded out Sunday’s winners with a victory in doubles division two, while Katandra West received the under-10 pennant after finishing top of the table.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text