Committee roles shared round

January 05, 2018

Each Councillor has been assigned various committee to sit on this year.

Which Shepparton councillor will represent what this year?

The Greater Shepparton City Council has signed off on the committees each councillor will sit on this year.

Councillors are represented on community organisations and government agency groups, as well as purpose groups appointed by the Council.

At last month’s meeting, the council appointed councillors to a number of committees each.

Mayor Kim O’Keeffe will sit on the GV Hwy bypass action group, a public health advisory committee and represent the council at the Melbourne University Rural Clinical School.

She will share a role on the audit and risk management committee with Cr Chris Hazelman, co-represent the council at the Murray Darling Association with Cr Dennis Patterson and share the Rumbalara Aboriginal Co-operative working party with Cr Seema Abdullah.

Cr Abdullah will sit on the GV Regional Library Board, the Women’s Charter Alliance, and the Heritage Advisory Committee.

Cr Dinny Adem will represent on the botanic gardens committee, at the MAV, committees for the Shepparton Racecourse and Recreation Reserve, regional saleyards and share the Tatura Park Advisory Board with Cr Fern Summer.

Cr Summer will look after the Shepparton Showgrounds advisory committee with Cr Shelley Sutton and represent at the Victorian Local Governance Association.

The Dhurringile Prison community advisory group, representation for the Shepparton aerodrome, RiverConnect, represent liquor licensing and the Sports Hall of Fame will be held by Cr Dennis Patterson, who will share representation of the development hearings panel with Cr Chris Hazelman.

Cr Les Oroszvary will sit on the Shepparton Show Me committee with Cr Shelley Sutton, and the Regional Aboriginal Justice advisory committee.

Cr Hazelman will sit on the SAM advisory committee and sit on the Deakin Reserve advisory committee with Cr Bruce Giovanetti.

Cr Giovanetti will represent the council on the disability advisory committee, Goulburn Broken Greenhouse Alliance, positive ageing advisory committee and rail freight alliance committee.

Cr Shelley Sutton will sit on the Sir Murray Bourchier Memorial advisory committee, the North Eastern Australian Local Government Women’s Association, the Best Start Municipal Early Years Partnership Committee and the Calder Woodburn Memorial advisory committee.

At last month’s meeting, Cr Patterson commended the program as being rewarding and as having worked well.

It ensures councillors ‘‘share the load’’, can represent the community in areas of interest and report back to councillors on their committees.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text