Interim board for water body

December 08, 2017

Murray Irrigation has announced an interim board comprising six shareholders and two independent directors.

Murray Irrigation has announced an interim board comprising six shareholders and two independent directors.

An interim board had to be elected after the permanent board members all stood down over issues about their election.

Interim board member Phillip Snowden said the interim board would follow a blueprint for reform created by two elected members, landholders and former board members, which would set out a series of steps that will ensure an orderly transition from the old board to the interim board and then a newly-elected board.

‘‘The formation of the interim board reflects the advice of landholder groups and the wider community,’’ Mr Snowden said.

‘‘What we have now is a good geographic representation across the Murray Irrigation footprint and an excellent cross section of experiences.’’

The chairs of landholder associations across Murray Irrigation’s area — which include Berriquin Irrigators Council, Denimein Landholders Association, Deniboota Landholders Association, Wakool Landholders Association and West Berriquin Landholders Association — said in a statement they welcomed the result, which was announced at the Murray Irrigation annual general meeting on November 28.

‘‘We look forward to working with the interim MIL board of directors, focusing on a fresh start with collaboration and transparency, and congratulate those who have committed to being part of the interim board,’’ the statement said.

The interim board is expected to have a heavy workload during its tenure, with its immediate tasks including working with chief executive officer Michael Renehan to ensure the company’s services are delivered.

‘‘After that, our most important duty is to set the groundwork for the election of a new board, which is likely to occur during February, with a new board taking office in March,’’ Mr Snowden said.

‘‘Much will be learned from the experiences of the last decade.

‘‘We want to ensure that candidates know the extent of their duties and that they are aware of the significant commitment that is required to be a director of Murray Irrigation.

‘‘These reforms present a new opportunity for effective representation from our area.’’

Mr Snowden said the outgoing board had shown the highest level of integrity by recognising their internal tensions and resigning as they promised they would do.

‘‘Their legacy is a modernised system that has prepared the region for rapidly expanding technology in agriculture and the opportunities that will bring to the Murray Irrigation footprint,’’ he said.

‘‘Despite their differences, each member of the board should be thanked for their contribution and their commitment.’’

The interim board members are: Waander van Beek, Phillip Snowden, Kelvin Baxter, Shane McNaul, Michael Hughes, Bill Hetherington and Peter Mogg (independent).

More in Rural
Login Sign Up

Dummy text