Murray back to the future

April 21, 2017

Jason Limbrick (left) and Simon Maddox have named an initial Murray Football interleague squad of 34 players to take on the Wimmera Football League on May 13.

Brodie Ross is one of only 10 players from last season's Murray Football interleague team to be named in this years initial squad of 34.

The Murray Football League has announced an initial squad of 34 players for its interleague clash with the Wimmera league.

It will be a new-look side from the one that lost against the South East league last year, with only 10 players returning to the squad.

‘‘There will be quite a few young faces, the likes of Ned Nihill and Mitchell Eade have just turned 18,’’ co-coach Jason Limbrick said.

‘‘It has been a deliberate move, we think there’s talent on every list in the under-25 bracket and we’re keen to blood them and give them a crack.’’

The first training session for the side will be at Nathalia on April 30, with the May 13 match looming large on the horizon.

‘‘Most of the players know each other, so they should be alright,’’ Limbrick said.

‘‘With the distances between clubs and how early the game is (in the year), it’s just not practical (to have more sessions).’’

Veterans Kane Atkinson, Jordan Souter and Brodie Ross will again feature prominently in the side, while fresh faces to the competition this year such as Ash Froud and the returning Farran Priest are sure to make their mark.

‘‘It’s important that the Murray Football League has a strong representative side and we think we’ve got that this year,’’ Limbrick said.

‘‘We’ll give the players freedom to play to their best and put on a show.’’

While some superstars, including Nick Fothergill and Nathan Lovett-Murray, will not take the field for various reasons, others such as Levi Power and Ash Quinn have left the league completely.

‘‘Players come and go all the time,’’ Limbrick said.

‘‘A few players were unavailable or injured, but we think we’ve got a strong squad and we’re really looking forward to it.’’

At least one player from all 12 teams has been selected, with the squad to be finalised by Tuesday, May 9.

Simon Maddox joins Limbrick in steering the ship, while Lucas White and Nick Flanagan will assist.

Tyrone Downie and Rhys Archard will captain the side, with the match between the 15th and 16th ranked leagues to be at the Moama Recreation Reserve.

‘‘It will be a challenge, but we think we’re up to it,’’ Limbrick said.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text