Future bright for children

December 02, 2016

Proud: Wilmot Rd Primary School scholarship students with their sponsors.

Holding prizes: La Trobe University's Michael Chisholm, Wilmot Rd Primary School student Stephen Atkinson, Hart Family's Leslie Hart, Wilmot Rd Primary School student Amina Lashkar and La Trobe University's Maria Zito.

Wilmot Rd Primary School had a special ceremony on Monday to award 10 students with scholarships from generous community sponsors.

School student wellbeing and community relationships co-ordinator Paul Greenwood said the scholarships totalled $5000 and were priceless to each student in terms of optimism and self-belief in their own potential.

‘‘The scholarship program title of Talent Opportunity Potential sits really well with the spirit of the program — they have an amazing impact on student wellbeing and community partnerships here at Wilmot Rd Primary School,’’ he said.

A new scholarship called the junior ambassadorship from La Trobe University was awarded to Year 5 student Amina Lashkari, 11, who also received the female leadership scholarship from DC & LC Hart Family.

Amina said it was a surprise to receive the ambassadorship award.

‘‘This is going to make a big impact on my future,’’ she said.

Amina said she planned to study medicine at university and was excited for the opportunity to meet her La Trobe University student mentors.

During the scholarship presentation, Year 6 student Simone Kaka received the enhancing education transition scholarship from McGuire College, Year 4 student Ellen Best received the business and science studies scholarship from the Good Guys, Year 4 student Farzana Khademi received the civic leadership scholarship from Dawes Vary & Riordan Solicitors, Year 5 student Jasmyn Davis received the trades and technology scholarship from the Apprenticeship Factory, Year 4 student Zabihullah Haidari received the educational aspirations scholarship from Bendigo Bank and Year 5 student Marwan Ahmed received the environmental studies scholarship from Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority.

Other recipients included Year 5 student Alper Ozturk, who received the male leadership scholarship from M&S Accounting, Year 5 student Jessica Trevaskis, who received the community citizenship scholarship from State Member for Northern Victoria Wendy Lovell, and Year 4 student Stephen Atkinson, who received the Wanmirr ambassadorship from the Ngarrapna Indigenous Education Unit at La Trobe University.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text