Seat still cold

November 30, 2016

Former Shepparton Swans secretary Rhonda Kortum is the Goulburn Valley Football League’s newest board member.

But there is still one vacant seat to be filled following the resignation of David Fox in August.

That position won’t be confirmed at tonight’s annual meeting at AFL Goulburn Murray’s Kialla headquarters, according to league chairman David Roff.

He said there would be more pressing issues to discuss and a decision about the vacancy would have to be made another time.

Roff was up for re-election, along with Philip Friedlieb and Braydon Aitken, after their two-year terms came to an end.

Aitken decided not to nominate again, with Kortum the only outsider to throw her hat in the ring.

Roff, Friedlieb, Kortum, Freddo McMahon, Mick Williams and Quentin Thomson are the current board members.

Fox resigned from his position following the board’s decision to give a licence to community radio station One FM to live-stream this year’s preliminary final and grand final.

The GVFL board put the live-streaming coverage for last season’s finals series out to tender in July, with bids from producer and cameraman Haig Lindsay and One FM put on the table.

Lindsay has produced live football coverage for the league since 2013, with Fox and John ‘‘J.R.’’ Ryan leading the commentary team.

Their coverage had been used for three grand finals, along with four home-and-away games last season, as well as interleague matches.

The league is expected to finally unveil publicly the sale price of the former office at Dunkirk Ave after the prized asset was sold in June.

In the league’s annual report of 2015, the value of the building was $206200, accounting for depreciation following its 2011 valuation.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text