Demons entering new era

November 26, 2016

New team, new direction: Shepparton United Junior Football Club will be guided by Jo Alper (secretary), Gary Steigenberger (committee), Jason Ritchie (president), Daryl Chalcraft (committee), Chris Teitze (treasurer), Rebecca Thompson (publicity officer) and Ivan Pigatto. Mick Holding and Chris Barzen are absent.Jo

New coaches: Daryl Chalcraft (development coach), Mark Lewis (under-14 Red), Tim Davis (under-16 Red), Josh Pearce (under-16 Blue), Paul McInneny (under-14 Blue) and Dean Walton (Youth Girls) are Shepparton United's junior football coaches for next year.Daryl Chalcraft, Mark Lewis, Tim Davis, Josh Pearce, Paul McInney, Dean Walton

Exciting times: Shepparton United are entering a Youth Girls team in the Shepparton District Junior Football League for the first time. Pictured are captains Charli Boschetti and Kate Adams with coach Dean Walton, middle.Dean Walton, Charli Boschetti, Kate Adams

It is all happening at Shepparton United Junior Football Club.

The Demons are embarking on a new era in the Shepparton District Junior Football League, with the club to field a Youth Girls team for the first time next year.

Dean Walton has been appointed as head coach for the inaugural campaign and he said he could not wait to get started with a talented bunch of players.

‘‘There is a real buzz around the new women’s team, with many interested players approaching me about the opportunity to play football,’’ Walton said.

‘‘I encourage all under-18 women that are interested in playing football to come along to our first training run.’’

Walton has already appointed his captains, with Charli Boschetti and Kate Adams to lead the Demons on the field.

Along with the Youth Girls side, there is a new-look committee and coaches.

Daryl Chalcraft has been appointed development coach, while Tim Davis (under-16 Red), Josh Pearce (under-16 Blue), Mark Lewis (under-14 Red) and Paul McInneny (under-14 Blue) will take charge of the other teams.

Pearce has been a senior assistant at Murray Football League club Congupna, while Davis has coached previously at Bendigo club St Kilian’s.

With Walton taking charge of the Youth Girls team, Jason Ritchie has taken over as president.

Jo Alper will act as secretary, Chris Teitzel has taken on the role as treasurer, Rebecca Thompson is publicity officer and Ivan Pigatto will be the team manager.

The general committee will be made up of Mick Holding, Gary Steigenberger, Chris Barzen and Daryl Chalcraft.

The training first session for all juniors’ player will be held on Monday night at Rumbalara’s Mercury Drive, starting at 5.30 pm.

There were will be a sausage sizzle and drinks provided for all in attendance.

Further training sessions will be on at the same venue every Monday up until December 19.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text